Spell Review: Death Coil


images.jpgYep, the one, the only, the most feared and whined about spell on the Warlocks list of spell (except maybe the normal Fear), Death Coil. One of the best “Oh Crap” spells on the Warlocks arsenal also, this spell has lots of positive uses for it and is probably one of the spells most other classes expect to be used against them.

This spell is first learned at level 42 but will soon become one of your favorite spells. So what does it do? Let’s look at the Rank 1 tool-tip:

Death Coil Rank 1
365 Mana 30 yd range
Instant cast 2 min cooldown
Causes the enemy target to run in horror for 3 sec and causes 244 Shadow damage.  The caster gains 100% of the damage caused in health.

See that tool-tip? See what it says? That’s right a “Horror” effect, not fear, Horror. That means most other classes with those abilities that neglect our Fear (and now every class has a way to neglect our Fear) can not neglect this do to not being a fear based spell. Yes, it does somewhat the same thing, but it is in its own category in the line of fear based spells.

Another little thing I like about this spell is the health return. 100& of the damage done to the target by this spell is returned to the Warlock, 100%, that is a nice little emergency get out of trouble and return 244 health for a rank 1 spell. Sadly this spell can not crit, or then it would be an even more awesome spell than it already is.

I see a lot of Warlock miss use this spell in Battle Grounds as they like to open up with this spell. That’s okay but to me, if you are just getting into a fight and have full health, why waste half of this spells ability? What I like to do is save this spell for Warriors when you see them getting ready to charge you and Healers.

Why? Well Warriors like to charge you then prep themselves for that mighty Mortal Strike while you are helpless and stunned, so a nicely placed DC will send them running around while you recover from their stun. Then you can proceed to WTF dot their butt and drain tank them. Doesn’t always work great as I have yet to perfect the tactic but it does help with those silly Warriors.

Healers I use it on them in times of need when I have them low on health and I see them getting ready to heal themselves. You no can heal when running around like a headless chicken. So yea it has its usage in certain situations.

So let’s look at what you get on the final rank of this spell, Rank 4:

Death Coil Rank 4
600 Mana 30 yd range
Instant cast 2 min cooldown
Causes the enemy target to run in horror for 3 sec and causes 519 Shadow damage.  The caster gains 100% of the damage caused in health.

519 damage with all of that damage returned to you in health.

edit: Death Coil does recieve a benefit from +Shadow Damage modifiers so go on and stackk Shadow up and really get the cries for NERF DEATH COIL! going.

thanks for the tip there Arrens!

~ by Poxus on February 13, 2008.

7 Responses to “Spell Review: Death Coil”

  1. Death Coil does in fact scale with +Spell Damage (or, more specifically, +Shadow Damage). I typically hit the bad guys for around 1200 or so damage everytime I use it. As you stated, it truly shines when you’re low on health and need that quick pick-me-up before that rogue beats the crap outta you.

  2. Thanks for the input. I thought it did, but to tell the truth, most times I just cast it and go onto the next target and pay no attention to the damage it does…

  3. Great write up, Poxus. I, too, wonder at the thoughts of warlocks who open with this ability. Every time I try opening with this ends up with me a puddle of evil mess on the floor. Best for, as you say, interrupting heals or charges (or flag carriers with too much support)

  4. Thanks for the comment Shas!

    I think this can apply to most classes though, with that one ability that sort of defines a part of their class. Take the Warrior, in a PvP environment, you know you are going to get charged, it’s thier ability. It is so much ingrained for certain players as needed that I actually see Warriors backing up in a BG just so they can charge and get that stun off.

  5. Hehe, pretty funny indeed when a warlock opens up with DC. I used to have a lock in my BG that EVERY damn time, opened with DC. Full health, no health, getting the jump, getting jump, etc…every time DC first. He just never got what the spell was designed to do. I use it sparingly in pvp as it is precious…
    I have just started a blog if you would like to check it out. I believe if you click on my name it will take you there.

  6. See Luke, I knew I wasn’t the only Warlock that saw how other Warlocks played uninformed. I think the excess Hunter community are becoming Warlocks for some strange reason.

    BTW, I don’t see a link to your blog, post it please, I’d love some more reading material.

  7. I dejavu’ly agree poxus, hunters have all the talents of locks except they get to wear leather and IMO their DPS is superior.

Leave a comment